Share |

Dean's Column: Boyd Welcomes New Faculty

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
Nevada Lawyer Magazine
“The professors joining the faculty this fall will provide invaluable resources to Nevada as they help to educate the next generation of legal professionals.”
Dean’s Column
The Boyd School of Law is proud to provide excellent legal education to state residents, thereby keeping talented students in Nevada during their education and beyond. Equally important are the resources the law school attracts to the state. The law school is proud to hire prominent lawyers and professors from around the country to serve as members of the faculty. Twelve years ago, the law school attracted leading scholars from a number of law schools to found a law school built on a unique model of legal education; this tradition has continued. In recent years the law school has hired a diverse and talented group of teachers to join the faculty and contribute to the intellectual vitality of the bar. The professors joining the faculty this fall will provide invaluable resources to Nevada as they help to educate the next generation of legal professionals. Ian Chamberlin Bartrum is an expert in constitutional law, history and theory, with a special focus on law and religion. He joins Boyd as an associate professor of law from Drake Law School. Previously, he taught at Vermont Law School and at Yale Law School as the Irving Ribicoff Fellow. His research interests are in constitutional history and theory, the Establishment Clause and constitutional education. The American Association of Law Schools recognized his article “The Constitutional Canon as Argumentative Metonymy,” as the Steven Gey Paper in Constitutional Law for 2010. He frequently comments on church and state issues nationally. He is a graduate of Hamilton College, Vermont Law School and Yale Law School. Linda L. Berger joins the faculty as a professor of law whose expertise is in legal writing, law and rhetoric, and first amendment law. She is one of the nation’s leading figures in legal writing; previously, she taught at the University of San Diego School of Law, Thomas Jefferson School of Law and Mercer University School of Law. She was a founder and long-time editor of the Journal of the Association of Legal Writing Directors. Currently, she is an editor of the LSN-SSRN eJournal, Law & Rhetoric Abstracts. Her recent scholarly work has emphasized the ways in which rhetorical analysis guides the interpretation and composition of legal arguments. Ruben J. Garcia will be a professor of law teaching labor law, employment law and employment discrimination. He graduated from the UCLA School of Law and received his LL.M. from the University of Wisconsin School of Law. He taught at the University of Wisconsin Law School, the University of California, Davis School of Law and the University of California, San Diego. He is a member of the Labor Law Group and is currently working on a book that will address low-wage workers. He has a leadership role with the Society of American Law Teachers. Michael Kagan is joining UNLV as an expert in immigration law, refugee law, human rights law and evidence. He spent 10 years building legal aid
44 Nevada Lawyer
September 2011
programs for refugees throughout the Middle East and Asia. He has held previous teaching positions at Tel Aviv University Faculty of Law and the American University in Cairo. Kagan’s research on refugee credibility assessment has been cited by multiple courts of appeal, and he has also written extensively about international refugee law and humanitarian policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. He will co-direct the Immigration Law Clinic at UNLV . Finally, Addie C. Rolnick will bring to the faculty expertise in Indian law, critical race theory and criminal law. She joins UNLV from UCLA School of Law, where she was the inaugural Critical Race Studies Fellow. Her scholarship focuses on bridging gaps between civil rights, critical race theory, federal Indian law and indigenous rights. Prior to joining the academy, she represented tribal governments as an attorney with a top native rights law firm in Washington, D.C., where she was a leading advocate on law enforcement and juvenile justice issues, and assisted tribes with institution building in the areas of juvenile justice, child welfare, constitution drafting and justice system development. She received her J.D. and M.A. in American Indian Studies from UCLA and is a graduate of Oberlin College. With these five accomplished professors joining the faculty, the Boyd School of Law is positioned to provide an even more diverse and talented resource for its students, UNLV the , bar and Nevada. With our increasingly global outreach as scholars and teachers, the faculty strives to be an international resource for these constituencies.
The State Bar of Nevada Board of Governors and the Access to Justice Commission extend a special thanks to the following attorneys who generously accepted cases in June 2011 through the Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, Washoe Legal Services, Nevada Legal Services and Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans.
Amanda Cowley Ambrish Sidhu Angela Dows Chandan Manansingh Christopher Curtis Chuck Zumpft David Bindrup Delwyn Webber Erika Twesme Gary Mathews Gina Mushmeche Israel Kunin James Griffin James Silvestri Jared Frost Jeanette McPherson John Hooks Josef Karacsonyi Kathleen Maynard Kendal Davis Kendelee Works Kent Ivey Kim Boyer Marjorie Guymon Mark Connot Mark Hanson Martin Prybylski Mary Madrid Huck Matthew Friedman Meghan Goodwin Melanie Morgan Michael Carman Michael Dawson Michael DeLee Michael Paul Rhodes Ogonna Atamoh Ramon Dy-Ragos Rebekah Baumgardner Rena Hughes Robert Hempen II Ronald Colquitt Rosa Solis-Rainey Sandra-Mae Pickens Shiv Kapoor Susan Trautmann Tanika Capers Thomas Hart Tracy DiFillippo Victoria Nelson Z. Kathryn Branson
Alex Morey Allison Joffee Amber Robinson Andrew Pastwick April Green Barbara Gruenewald Brian Elliot Chandan Manansingh Christopher Carr Dixie Grossman Eric Lerude Fred Kennedy Gary Pakele Gabrielle Jones Guinness Ohazuruike Heather Anderson-Fintak James Davis James Smith Jason Peck Kendal Davis Lynn Conant Margo Chernysheva Mario Fenu Muriel Skelly Ogonna Atamoh Patricia Phair Rebekah Baumgardner Richard Cornell Richard Williamson Robert Blau Sarah Bradley Soraya Veiga Susan Noyce Susan Trautmann Tera Hodge William Kapalka
PRofeSSoR fRanciS J. mootZ serves as the William S. Boyd Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development. He joined the William S. Boyd School of Law in 2008, after 18 years as a law professor at three schools. He draws from his practice experience as a commercial litigator and his graduate work in philosophy to sustain varied scholarly projects in both traditional doctrinal areas, such as insurance, contract and sales law and interdisciplinary topics.
Bold honors multiple cases accepted and/or sessions conducted within the month.
September 2011
Nevada Lawyer
This document is © 2011 by jsmith22 - all rights reserved.
NevLawyer_Sept2011_Deans-Column.pdf535.74 KB