The State Bar of Nevada’s Diversity Committee grants two $5,000 scholarships each year to University of Nevada Las Vegas’ Boyd School of Law students who embrace the Committee’s mission to increase diversity within the membership and leadership of the State Bar of Nevada and the profession and to promote cultural competence. The Scholarship is offered through the Diversity Committee and is funded by the Lawyer Referral and Information Service Committee.

Scholarships are awarded based on merit with equal consideration given to financial need, demonstrated potential for leadership, and academic excellence. Primary consideration is given to applicants whose essay responses best represent the Committee’s mission. Preference is also given to those students who attended the Univerity of Nevada Las Vegas or the University of Nevada Reno for undergraduate studies, a Nevada high school, and/or students who have been Nevada residents for 5 years or longer.

2016 Scholarship Application

Winners of the Diversity Scholarship will be individually notified by May 31, 2016. Scholarship awards will be granted directly to the selected Boyd School of Law student in two installments of $2,500 to be paid at the beginning of the 2016 fall and 2017 spring semesters.

The State Bar of Nevada reserves the right to publicize the names of the scholarship winners and portions of the application submission, including the Diversity Essay.

To apply, complete the online form below. The deadline to apply is May 13, 2016 at 5:00 p.m.

You will be required to upload (1) undergraduate transcripts, (2) your current Boyd School of Law Transcript and (3) your resume.

Please do not submit the following items with your application: photographs of yourself, supplemental writing samples or letters of recommendation. They will not be considered.

The Diversity Scholarship application period has expired.

Past Scholarship Winners

Carmen Gilbert
Seleste Hamilton
Kimie Beverly
Jessie Vargas
Tyre Gray
Kostan Lathouris
Maria Luisa Parra-Sandoval
Oscar Peralta
Chariane Forrey
Sagar Raich
Patrick (“Rick”) Benito
Colin Seale