Section News & Events:

EFFECTIVE USE OF EXPERT WITNESSES IN CIVIL LITIGATION
Presented by the Litigation Section
October 18, 2018
3 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
State Bar of Nevada, Las Vegas
Northern Nevada Bar Center, Reno
1.5 General CLE hours
Learn more & sign-up

SUMMARY JUDGMENT: BEST PRACTICES
Presented by the Litigation Section
November 8, 2018
3 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
State Bar of Nevada, Las Vegas
Northern Nevada Bar Center, Reno
1.5 General CLE hours
Learn more & sign-up


 About the Section:

Purpose:

The purposes of the Litigation Section are to:

  1. Provide a forum for the improvement of law and procedure in the field of litigation in civil and criminal areas;
  2. Provide a forum addressed to the problems and interest of the trial practitioner who specializes in the spectrum of civil litigation, without limitation to a particular substantive area;
  3. Provide a forum addressed to the problems and interest of the trial practitioner who specializes in the spectrum of criminal trial practice;
  4. Promote the sound development of ethical and professional litigation practices and procedures;
  5. Assist the judiciary in enhancing the administration of justice in the area of civil litigation and criminal procedure;
  6. Support and enhance the art of trial and appellate advocacy; and
  7. Act upon all matters germane to its purpose as so described or referred to by the Board of Governors.

Bylaws

Download the Litigation Section Bylaws (last updated 7/25/2013)


Officers

Chair: Tracy DiFillippo

Armstrong Teasdale, LLP
3770 Howard Hughes Pkwy
Las Vegas, NV 89169
702-473-7092
tdifillippo@armstrongteasdale.com

 
Vice Chair: Maximiliano Couvillier III, Esq.
Kennedy & Couvillier
3271 E. Warm Springs Road
Las Vegas, NV 89120
702-605-3440
mcouvillier@kclawnv.com
 
Secretary: John H. Gutke, Esq.

Gutke Law Group 
9205 West Russell Road, Suite 240
Las Vegas, NV 89148
702-766-1212
john@gutkelaw.com
 
Treasurer: Shannon Pierce
Fennemore Craig Jones Vargas
300 E. Second Street
Reno, NV 89504
Phone: 775-786-5000
Email: spierce@fclaw.com
 
Committee of Legal Education Pertaining to Criminal and Civil Areas
Co-Chair: Paul Haire
Advanced Resolution Management
6980 S. Cimarron Road, Ste. 210
Las Vegas, NV 89113
702-960-4494
paul.m.haire@gmail.com
 
Co-Chair: Eric Hone
H1 Law Group
701 N. Green Valley Parkway, Suite 200
Henderson, NV 89074
702-608-3720
eric@h1lawgroup.com
 
Co-Chair: Ryan Lower
Morris Law Group
900 Bank of America Plaza
Las Vegas, NV 89101
702-474-9400
rml@morrislawgroup.com
 
Publications Committee
Co-Chair: John H. Gutke, Esq.

Gutke Law Group 
9205 West Russell Road, Suite 240
Las Vegas, NV 89148
702-766-1212
john@gutkelaw.com
 
Co-Chair: Conor P. Flynn, Esq. 

OptumCare
Associate General Counsel 
2716 N. Tenaya Way
Las Vegas, NV 89128
702-240-8815
conor.flynn@optum.com
 
Committee on Civil and Appellate Procedure
Chair: Jamie Combs
Akerman LLP
1635 Village Center Circle, Suite 200
Las Vegas, NV 89134
702-634-5007
jamie.combs@akerman.com
 
Membership Committee
Chair: Kory Kaplan
Larson Zirzow Kaplan
850 E. Bonneville Ae.
Las Vegas, NV 89101
702-382-1170
kkaplan@lzklegal.com
 
Committee on Ethics and Professionalism
Co-Chair: Brian Anderson
Assistant City Attorney
City of Henderson
702-267-1215
brian.anderson@cityofhenderson.com
 
Co-Chair: Brenoch R. Wirthlin
Fennemore Craig
300 S. Fourth Street, Suite 1400
Las Vegas, NV 89101
702-692-8005
 
Staff Liaison: Robert Horne
Board Liaison: Paola Armeni
 
Annual dues are $30.
 


Meeting Minutes

2011: September

 

Thumbnail Image: