# October 2, 2002

### MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

A special meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada was convened by President Gloria J. Sturman on October 2, 2002, at 4:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the State Bar of Nevada and by teleconference.

The following members of the Board of Governors were in attendance:

Gloria J. Sturman .... President

N. Patrick Flanagan III .... President-Elect (By telephone)

James W. Bradshaw (By telephone)

Bruce T. Beesley (By telephone)

Kathleen J. England

Dara J. Goldsmith (By telephone)
Rew R. Goodenow (By telephone)

Richard Morgan

Bridget Robb Peck (By telephone)
John P. Schlegelmilch (By telephone)

# STATE BAR STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Allen W. Kimbrough

Patrice Eichman

### October 2, 2002

# MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

### 1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

The meeting was called to order at 4:10 p.m. by President Gloria Sturman and a quorum was declared.

### 2. CONSIDER JOINT PETITION ON ADMISSIONS FEES

In advance of the meeting, the Board had received a copy of the Joint ADKT Petition proposed to be filed by the Board of Bar Examiners and the Board of Governors asking for an increase in the fees charged for bar examination application packets, for the bar examination, and for the penalties charged for late applications. Director of Admissions Patrice Eichman and Executive Director Allen Kimbrough briefed the Board on the need for these increases, as the Admissions Department is currently projecting a large deficit for calendar year 2002. Ms. Sturman advised the Board that the new fee schedule was reached in a meeting held between Ms. Sturman and Richard Trachok, Chair of the Board of Bar Examiners and that the Supreme Court would take up the matter at its docket hearing on October 24.

After discussion, the Board unanimously approved the filing of the Joint Petition, and Ms. Eichman stated that it would be filed not later than Friday, October 4.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gloria J. Sturman

Allen W. Kimbrough

President

Executive Director