

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS State Bar of Nevada, Carson City, NV

February 17, 2010

A regular meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada was convened on February 17, 2010.

The following members were in attendance:

Kathleen J. England, President
Cam Ferenbach, President Elect
Connie Akridge, Vice President
Bruce Beesley, Immediate Past President
James Bradshaw
Amber Candelaria
Larry Digesti
Frank Flaherty
Elana Graham

Bruce Hahn

Jenny Hubach

Gregg Kamer

Alan Lefebvre

Vincent Ochoa

Mason Simons

John White (ex officio)

State Bar staff present:

Rob Bare David Clark Kimberly Farmer Emily Ihrke Marc Mersol Gale Skala

Guests:

Laura Granier Rick Trachok Ann Morgan

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Kathleen J. England at 9:15 a.m., there being a quorum present.

CONSENT ITEMS

The following consent items were moved, seconded and approved.

FINANCE REPORT

ACCESS TO JUSTICE COMMISSION REPORT

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded and carried to approve the amended minutes of December 9, 2009.

PUBLICATIONS REPORT

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve Airene Haze and Janet Pancoast as new members to the Publications Committee for a three year term commencing March 1, 2010.

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve Erin Barnett and John Zimmerman as new members to the Nevada Editorial Board for a three year term commencing March 1, 2010.

CLIENT SECURITY FUND REPORT AND FEE DISPUTE ARBITRATION COMMITTEE

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve Janet Pancoast as a new member to the Clients' Security Fund Committee for a three year term commencing February 1, 2010.

It was moved, seconded and approved to reappoint Vernon Leverty to the Clients' Security Fund Committee for a three year term commencing March 1, 2010.

It was moved, seconded and approved to appoint James Howard as a new member to the Fee Dispute Arbitration Committee for a three year term commencing February 1, 2010.

It was moved, seconded and approved to reappoint the following members to the Fee Dispute Arbitration Committee for a three year term commencing March 1, 2010.

Las Vegas Panel A Greta Muirhead Las Vegas Panel A Bruce Schupp Las Vegas Panel B Michael Bohn Las Vegas Panel B Eric Dobberstein Patrick McKnight Las Vegas Panel B Howard Miller Las Vegas Panel B Thomas Coyle, Jr. Rural Panel David Stanton Rural Panel Stewart Wilson Rural Panel

DISCUSSION / ACTION ITEMS

ADMISSIONS REPORT

Rick Trachok, Chair of the Board of Bar Examiners and Ann Morgan, Vice Chair provided a step by step synopsis of what is involved in the Bar Exam test from writing the questions to grading the questions.

Ms. England provided an overview of the admissions revenue and expense history. This function is running at a budget deficit. Therefore, Ms. England called for a workgroup to look at the admissions process and revenue and expenses. There will be two members from the Board of Bar Examiners and two members from the Board of Governors on the workgroup. The members from the Board of Governors are Connie Akridge and Frank Flaherty. The Board of Bar Examiners will name the workgroup members at a later date.

REPORT OF THE YOUNG LAWYERS SECTION

Laura Granier reported on the recent activities of the Young Lawyers Section. Ms. Granier gave a synopsis on the Goldilocks program and the I Have a Dream program that both reach out to high schools students. Ms. Granier reported the trial skills program for the state bar annual convention is being finalized.

REPORT OF PRESIDENT

Kathleen England reported on the Nevada Law Foundation. ALPS is managing the IOLTA program and was able to report to the Access to Justice Commission the status on the IOLTA funds. The Board also discussed the NLF Silver Ball. After much discussion it was moved, seconded and approved to purchase a table at the NLF Silver Ball. Elana Graham abstained.

Ms. England assigned a workgroup to review the current process used for the Board of Governors elections each year. Members of the workgroup are Bruce Beesley, Margo Piscevich and Hon. Andrew Puccinelli. Mr. Beesley will chair the taskforce.

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION REPORT

Emily Ihrke gave a report on the status of the Continuing Legal Education department. Ms. Ihrke reported on the progress of the subcommittees, new technology, curriculum and Bridge the Gap. In December the CLE department's audio library and live seminars were made available for sale via the state bar's online platform.

BOARD COMMITTEES/WORKGROUPS

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve the audit agreement of Houldsworth, Russo and Co., PC.

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ETHICS AND PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY (APPOINTMENTS AND WRITTEN REPORT BY CHAIR JEFF STEMPEL)

It was moved, seconded and approved to appoint the following volunteers to the Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility commencing February 17, 2010 for a three year term. Gregg Kamer abstained from voting.

Kerri Sparks-Martinez Gregory Shannon Alan Freer

LAWYER REFERRAL AND INFORMATION SERVICES

Kimberly Farmer reported on the request of the Washoe County Bar Association to allow use of the 2009 remaining grant money earmarked for the *Seniors and the Law* publication to another worthy publication entitled *Now That You Are 18.* It was moved, seconded and approved to approve the request to allow the Washoe County Bar Association to use remaining funds from the 2009 LRIS grant award to print the *Now That You Are 18* publication. Elana Graham abstained.

SECTION REPORTS AND APPOINTMENTS

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve the following slate of officers for the Construction Law Section. Georlen Spangler, Chair Caryn Tijessling, Vice Chair Debra Pieruschka, Secretary Andrea Pressler, Treasurer

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve the following slate of officers for the Bankruptcy Law Section. Laurel Davis, Chair
Todd Dressel, Vice Chair
Jennifer Arledge, Secretary
Richard Holley, Treasurer
Tim Lucas, Communications Chair
Kent Ivey, Co-Chair, Education, Southern Nevada
Amy Tirre, Co-Chair, Education, Northern Nevada
Richard Holley, Co-Chair of Finance
Sarah Carrasco, Co-Chair of Finance
Brett Axelrod, Events Coordinator

REPORT OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Kimberly Farmer reported on the 2010 Board of Governors election. There are four openings in district one and one opening in district four. Petitions will be accepted not earlier than March 25 and not later than April 9, 2010.

REPORT OF DEPUTY BAR COUNSEL/GENERAL COUNSEL

David Clark gave a synopsis of his written report.

It was moved, seconded and approved to approve the appointments of Jeffrey Steffen and Adam Stokes to the Advertising Committee commencing February 17, 2010.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 1:45 pm the Board of Governors went into Executive Session. The Executive Session concluded at 2:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

Due to time limitations, the agenda was not completed. The outstanding business of the Board will be resumed at the next meeting of the Board. It was moved, seconded and approved to adjourn and reconvene at the call of the president.