Board Meeting Minutes 09/13/02

Board Meeting Minutes

A special meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada was convened by President Gloria J. Sturman on September 13, 2002, at 10:30 a.m. in the Board Room of the State Bar and by teleconference.

The following members of the Board of Governors attended in person or by telephone:

Gloria J. Sturman President
N. Patrick Flanagan III President-Elect
Ann Price McCarthy Vice President
Vincent A. Consul
Dara J. Goldsmith
Rew R. Goodenow
Richard Morgan
Bridget Robb Peck
William C. Turner
Steven B. Wolfson

STATE BAR STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT: Allen W. Kimbrough

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10: 35 a.m. by President Gloria Sturman and a quorum was declared.

2. REPORT ON LAW RELATED EDUCATION

Executive Director Allen Kimbrough reported to the Board that the search for a new Law Related Education Coordinator was in its final stages and that the position should be filled within the next week.

3. <u>CONSIDER MATTERS RELATED TO CLARK COUNTY JUDICIAL SELECTION</u> <u>COMMITTEE</u>

The Board, having previously received written notice of the request by the Clark County Manager for the Bar to provide the names of three members for possible service as members of any future judicial selection panel, proceeded to discuss various persons as suitable for such position. The position was not advertised due to time constraints. Following a lengthy discussion and vote, the following persons were selected:

John T. Moran, Jr. Gregory J. Kamer Nancy M. Lemcke

Kathy England and John Schlegelmilch abstained from the vote.

4. CONSIDER DATE CHANGE FOR JANUARY 2003 BOARD MEETING

The Board ratified the action of the Operations Committee in moving the date of the January 2003 meeting of the Board of Governors from Thursday, January 16 to Friday, January 31 in order to facilitate the formal ceremony at the Supreme Court commemorating the 75th Anniversary of the State Bar.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:58 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gloria J. Sturman President

Allen W. Kimbrough Executive Director