

Minutes – Board of Governors Meeting February 20 - 21, 2020 Carson City, Nevada

A meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada was convened on February 20 and 21, 2020.

The following members were in attendance:

Paul Matteoni, President
Eric Dobberstein, President-Elect
Ann Morgan, Vice President
Richard Pocker, Immediate Past President
Jeff Albregts
Paola Armeni
Julie Cavanaugh Bill
Doug Clark
Terry Coffing
Andrew Craner
Jessica Goodey
Gene Leverty
Kari Stephens

State Bar staff present:

Catherine Mazzeo

Manny Botello Lisa Dreitzer Kimberly Farmer Dan Hooge Marc Mersol

Joel Locke

Guests:

Lynda Traves

Via Teleconference
John Delikanakis
Justice Michael Douglas
Nikaia Jackson-Hale
Bryan Scott
Aeriel Williams

Via Telephone CluAynne Corwin Carl Morrison Jeanette Lacker

FEBRUARY 20, 2020

CALL TO ORDER

President Paul Matteoni called the meeting to order with a quorum present at 1:30 pm.

CONSENT AGENDA

The following Consent Agenda Items were approved:

Minutes from December 4, 2019 meeting Attorney Resignations Section Appointments

Construction Law Section - term ending December 2020:

Chair: Alex Flangas Vice Chair: Bret Gunson Secretary: Mary Bacon Treasurer: Jeff Spencer

Entertainment Law Section- term ending January 2021:

Chair: Harrison Reynolds Vice Chair: Steven Pacitti Secretary: Russell Christian Treasurer: Mathew Pruitt

Young Lawyers Section - term ending July 2020:

Chair: Karl Riley

Vice Chair: Peter Handy Secretary: Joe Meservey

Advertising Annual Report

Contracts:

La Jolla Agreement CCS Presentation Systems Xerillion Precision

The Nevada Lawyer Advertising Policy was removed from the consent agenda for discussion. After discussion by the Board the motion to amend the Nevada Lawyer Advertising Policy failed.

REPORTS

Discipline Report

Dan Hooge presented the report and statistics covering matters in the Office of Bar Counsel.

Discipline Taskforce Report

Terry Coffing discussed the goals and objectives of the taskforce. He recapped the taskforce meetings specifically covering a discussion on permanent disbarment and review of reports covering alternative discipline structures.

Paralegal Division Report

Lynda Traves, CluAynne Corwin, Carl Morrison and Jeannette Lacker provided the Board with an overview of their attempts to revitalize the Division. Ms. Traves discussed the Division request to become an affiliate member of the National Association of Legal Administrators and addressed the Board's concerns regarding the Division's request. After much discussion it was moved, seconded, and carried to approve the Paralegal Division's affiliate membership with the National Association of Legal Administrators.

FEBRUARY 21, 2020

FINANCIAL REPORT

Marc Mersol presented a summary of the State Bar's Financial Report for December 31, 2019. It was moved, seconded and carried to accept the December 31, 2019 financial report.

ACTION ITEMS

LawClerk Member Benefits Proposal

It was moved, seconded and carried to approve the LawClerk Member Benefits Proposal.

Release of Membership Information Policy

It was moved, seconded and carried to affirm the policy for release of membership information.

APPOINTMENTS

The Board approved the following appointments:

Disciplinary Panels - North and South

Robert J. Caldwell

Jacqueline Carman

Nell Christensen

Dana P. Oswalt

Daniel Royal

Sarah E. Smith

Dawn R. Throne

Dan Waite, Esq.

William Holland

Kellie C. Rubin

Judy Ann Prutzman

Becky Watson, EdD

Brooke M. Westlake

Jan T. Barker

Lynda Goldman

Natalie Ann Allred

Afeni Banks

Brittany Falconi

Joelyne Gold

Elizabeth A Hanson

Jack S. Hegeduis

Julia D. Heshmati

Anne Kingsley

Gale Kotlikova

Benjamin S. Lurie

Jo Kent McBeath

Vicki L. Seelig

Danny Lee Snyder Jr.

Steve Moore

Transitioning into Practice (TIP) Standing Committee

Rachel Donn, chair / Richard Galin

Standing Committee on Judicial Ethics

Todd Reese, Homero Gonzalez, Christopher Cannon, Patricia Halstead and Frank Toddre

Commission on Judicial Discipline

Karl Armstrong / Alternates -- Bill Hammer, Christopher Laurent and Laurence Irwin

Nevada Legal Services Board of Directors

Nancy Guhsn

Fee Dispute Committee

Dane Anderson

Katy Branson

Stephen Castronova

Ira David

Richard Dreitzer

Duane Frizell

Arun Gupta

Parish Heshmati

Debbie Leonard

Nicholas Pereos

Tina Zhang

Karen Hanks

Kendall Masuko

Michael McLoughlin

Judy Prutzman

Andrew Wong

Las Vegas, B Regional Chair: Justin Watkins

PRESENTATION

Justice Michael Douglas Fellowship

Bryan Scott recapped the State Bar's efforts on diversity during his tenure on the Board of Governors and after. He highlighted the shortcomings of the legal profession when it comes to diversity. Justice Douglas discussed his concerns regarding the lack of diversity in the law school and also in keeping "home-grown" students in Nevada.

Upon hearing the presentation, the Board supported the program and approved appointment to the Board of the Justice Michael Douglas Fellowship Program. It was moved, seconded, and carried to appoint Paola Armeni and Doug Clark to the Board of the Justice Michael Douglas Fellowship Program.

March 5, 2020 Email Vote

Via an email vote, it was moved, seconded and carried to approve the Letter of Intent Offer to lease tenant space at 3100 West Charleston and to authorize the Executive Committee in consultation with the Facilities Committee to negotiate the final terms of the Letter of Intent and the lease. Terry Coffing abstained from the vote.