

Minutes – Board of Governors Meeting June 24, 2020 Via Zoom Meeting

A meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada was convened on June 24, 2020

## The following members were in attendance:

Paul Matteoni, President Eric Dobberstein, President-Elect Ann Morgan, Vice President Richard Pocker, Immediate Past President Paola Armeni Julie Cavanaugh Bill Doug Clark Terry Coffing Andrew Craner Richard Dreitzer Jessica Goodey Gene Leverty Kari Stephens Joel Locke

# State Bar staff present:

Kimberly Farmer Lisa Dreitzer Marc Mersol Manny Botello Dan Hooge

#### **Guests:**

Seth Adams Brittnie Watkins

# **CALL TO ORDER**

President Paul Matteoni called the meeting to order with a quorum present at 1:00 pm. Mr. Matteoni addressed the Board and welcomed everyone to his final meeting as president.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

It was moved, second and carried to remove the MDL Listing agreement from consent agenda. Consent agenda approved.

## **ACTION ITEMS**

## Practice Management Advisor:

Kimberly Farmer provided an overview on the goals and objectives of the Practice Management Program, Handle/BAR, and the role of a Practice Management Advisor (PMA). Julie Cavanaugh-Bill supported the program and proposal, she recently found herself with an attorney in the rural communities with many questions on starting a practice and nowhere to turn. The Board discussed the PMA position and directed additions to the Memorandum of Understanding to include a requirement for malpractice insurance and the addition of indemnity clauses. A notice of the PMA position opening will be advertised as well.

### **FINANCIAL REPORT**

Marc Mersol presented a summary of the state bar's Financial Report for April 30, 2020. It was moved, seconded, and carried to accept the April 30, 2020 financial report.

### **DISCIPLINE REPORT**

Dan Hooge presented the report and statistics covering matters in the Office of Bar Counsel.

### **APPOINTMENTS**

The Board approved the following appointments:

<u>CLE Committee:</u> Chad Pace Lauren Clavert Stacey Newman

Chair: Danielle Christenson Vice-Chair: Lauren Calvert

#### Mock-Trial Committee:

It was moved, second and carried to approve change of Rules of Procedure for the committee. Lisa Bruce Andrew Chiu Sandra DiGiacomo John Giordani Edmund Gorman Kimberly Hyson Gale Kotlikolva Emily Strand Richard Vaughan Andrew Wong

Chair: Andrew Chiu

ABA Delegate: Richard Pocker

### **Discipline Panel:**

North

Brian Duffrin Bruce Hahn Lucas Foletta Caren Jenkins Asher A. Killan Katherine Lyon

Chair: Bruce Hahn Vice-Chair: Eric Stoval

#### South

Kathy Dalvey Damon Dias Kelly Giordani Donald Lowry Russ Marsh John Rasmussen Vincent Romeo Marni Watkins

Chair: Rush Marsh Vice-Chair: Christopher Lali Vice-Chair: Dana Oswalt

Nevada Bar Foundation: Patricia Halstead

# <u>TIP Committee:</u> Andrea Nichols Kirsty Pickering

# Lawyer Advertising Committee: James I. Barnes, III Ben Bateman Alicia Exley Adriana Fralick Adam Hosmer-Henner

Sheila Van Duyne

Chair: James I. Barnes, III

<u>Client Security Fund Committee:</u> Jeffery Sloane Brigid Higgins Reed Werner <u>Client Security Fund Committee:</u> Chair: Brigid Higgins Vice-Chair: Reed Werner

# DISCUSSION

<u>CLE Requirements for attorneys over 70:</u> It was moved and seconded to table the matter to the next Board meeting.

<u>Unclaimed Funds:</u> This discussion item will be addressed at a later meeting.

## **Board of Governor Elections:**

Kimberly Farmer outlined the current policy and process with Board of Governors elections and their results. Mr. Matteoni appointed a Taskforce to review the Supreme Court Rules relating to the Board of Governors election. Paola Armeni, Richard Dreitzer, Kari Stephens and Joel Locke were appointed to the Taskforce.

## Statement on Legal Observers:

The Board was asked to consider making a statement on the current issues regarding the arrest of legal observers and civil unrest. After discussion it was moved and second to table the matter to a later discussion. Terry Coffing abstained.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

It was moved, seconded, and carried to approve the following slate of officers to the Board of Governors commencing June 24, 2020.

President-Elect: Ann Morgan Vice President: Paola Armeni

The Board congratulated Eric Dobberstein in his accession to the 2020-2021 President role.

There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 4:30pm

## Email Vote, June 29, 2020

Via email, a motion was made with a second to support publication of a statement "Open Letter to Nevadans from the State Bar of Nevada" responding to the civil unrest around the country. The motion failed. Terry Coffing abstained from voting.

## Email Vote, July 30, 2020, E-mail Vote

Via email, it was moved, seconded, and approved to submit a petition the Supreme Court to mandate virtual hearings during the pandemic for issues pertaining to attorney misconduct.