

9456 Double R Blvd. Suite B Reno, NV 89521 TEL (775) 329-4104 FAX (775) 329-0522

Public Lawyers Section 2012 Annual Meeting Minutes

Minutes of the 2012 annual meeting of the State Bar of Nevada Public Lawyers Section, held May 17, 2012, at Harveys Resort – South Lake Tahoe, NV

- I. Call to Order and Roll Call. Chairman Brett Kandt called the 2012 annual meeting of the Section to order at 12:35 PM.
- **II.** Chair Report. The Section Chairman reported that the Section budget for 2012, as approved by the State Bar's Board of Governors, once again utilized all available Section revenues to co-sponsor the 2012 Nevada Government Civil Attorneys Conference with the Nevada Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys. The consensus of the Section was to continue using all available Section revenues to co-sponsor the conference.
- III. Presentation of 2012 James M. Bartley Distinguished Public Lawyer Award. The Section Chairman called upon Neil Rombardo to make the presentation of the 2012 Bartley Award to Randal R. Munn: "In recognition of his years of distinguished service to the people of Nevada, including service in the Carson City District Attorney's Office, the Reno City Attorney's Office, and the Nevada Attorney General's Office, and his commitment to the highest professional standards as a public lawyer."
- **IV. Nomination and Election of Officers and Executive Council.** The Section held elections for officers and Executive Council members, subject to ratification by the Board of Governors of the State Bar, pursuant to §8.0 of the Bylaws.

The Section Chairman reported that Sarah Bradley and Michael Oh had expressed interest in serving on the Executive Council, and that Mary-Anne Miller and Rusty Jardine were willing to step down to allow others the opportunity to serve on the Executive Council; otherwise all other Executive Council members agreed to serve another term. The Section Chairman invited nominations: Terry Shea moved, seconded by Jeffrey Trull, for the nomination of all current officers and Executive Council members to continue service for another term, with the exception of Secretary, for which Sarah Bradley was nominated in place of Mary-Anne Miller, and at-large member, for which Michael Oh was nominated in place of Rusty Jardine. The nominations were closed. By unanimous vote:

- **A.** Chairman. Brett Kandt, Executive Director, State of Nevada Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys, was re-elected Chairman for the 2012-13 term.
- **B.** Vice-Chairperson. Tina Russom, Carson City Deputy District Attorney, was reelected Vice-Chairperson for the 2012-13 term.
- **C. Secretary.** Sarah Bradley, Nevada Deputy Attorney General, was elected Secretary for the 2012-13 term.
- **D. Executive Council Members-At Large.** The following individuals were elected as members-at-large of the Executive Council for the 2012-13 term:

Public Lawyers Section Annual Meeting Minutes May 17, 2012 Page 2 of 2

- Mark Ghan, Vice President/General Counsel of Western Nevada College
- Cliff Jeffers, Deputy District Attorney, Clark County
- Paul Lipparelli, Assistant District Attorney, Washoe County
- Michael Oh, Deputy City Attorney, Henderson

The Section will therefore request that the Board of Governors ratify the officer and Executive Council election results submitted pursuant to §8.0 of the Bylaws:

- V. 2012—13 Action Plan. The Section took the following action:
- **A. Section Activities.** The Section Chairman reported that Section members were needed to continue publication of the *Public Lawyer*, and a publication committee was created consisting of Tina Russom and Sarah Bradley.
- **B. 2013 Nevada Government Civil Attorneys Conference.** Upon a motion by Sarah Bradley, seconded by Stephanie Barker, and carried unanimously, the Section agreed to utilize all available 2013 Section revenues to co-sponsor the 2013 Nevada Government Civil Attorneys Conference with the Nevada Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys, to hold the conference in May 2013, at Harveys Resort in South Lake Tahoe, and to hold the 2013 annual meeting of the Section at the Conference pursuant to §5.0 of the Bylaws.
- VI. Other Matters. None.
- VII. Section Comments. None.
- **VIII.** Time and Location of Next Meeting. The Section Chairman reported that he would submit an annual report to the Board of Governors of the State Bar pursuant to §13.0 of the Bylaws, together with the Executive Council election results for ratification, and then contact the Council members to schedule the next Council meeting.
- **IX. Adjournment.** The Section adjourned the 2012 annual meeting without motion at 1:05 PM.

CERTIFICATION OF CHAIRMAN

I, Brett Kandt, the duly elected Chairman of the State Bar of Nevada Public Lawyers Section, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the minutes of the 2012 annual meeting of the Section.

Brett Kandt Chairman Public Lawyers Section